Administration Changes

Read about some of the administration changes at Scranton this past year.

Rev. Herbert B. Keller, S.J. H’06, stepped down from his position as vice president for Mission and Ministry to return to the classroom at Scranton Preparatory School, where he also will provide pastoral support for students.


Gerald Zaboski ’87, G’95, was named senior vice president for the Office of the President. He will continue to oversee the areas of marketing, communications and external affairs for Scranton, in addition to assuming new responsibilities for assisting the president.


Shannon A. Zottola, a Scranton native, was named vice president for enrollment management. Previously, she served as vice president and dean for enrollment management and marketing at Ursinus College.



Jeffrey Gingerich, Ph.D., provost and senior vice president for Academic Affairs, was appointed president of St. Bonaventure University in March. Gingerich served as acting president after the death of Rev. Scott R. Pilarz, S.J. He helped to guide the University and its faculty through the pandemic, oversaw the successful conclusion of the University’s most recent accreditation review by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and led the University’s planning efforts, which culminated in a new Strategic Plan. 

Michelle Gonzalez Maldonado, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, will serve as interim provost and senior vice president for Academic Affairs for the 2022-2023 academic year while the University conducts a national search for a highly qualified candidate to succeed Gingerich.


Interim CAS Dean David Dzurec, Ph.D., will serve as interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) while Dean Maldonado acts as interim provost. Dr. Dzurec was appointed associate dean for CAS in January of this year. A faculty member at the University since 2008, Dzurec has served as chair of the History Department and as interim executive director of the Slattery Center for the Ignatian Humanities.

 KSOM Dean Mark Higgins, Ph.D., joined Scranton as the dean of the Kania School of Management (KSOM) in July. Higgins was a professor of accounting at St. Louis University (SLU) and, from 2015 to 2019, was Edward Jones Dean and Professor of Accounting at its Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business.

Library Dean George Aulisio was named dean of the Weinberg Memorial Library. Aulisio, who joined the University community in 2009, served as the interim dean from July 2021 through his appointment in March 2022. As a research and instruction librarian, Aulisio works closely with students in research consultations and the Information Literacy program.

 PCPS Dean Victoria Castellanos, Ph.D., was appointed dean of the Panuska College of Professional Studies (PCPS) in April. Castellanos has been the interim dean of PCPS since January of this year, having served as associate dean of PCPS since joining the University community in 2012.

Scroll to Top