Focus on Faculty

Read faculty news highlights from the spring and summer.

Together, Benjamin Bishop, Ph.D., and Renée Hakim, Ph.D., research virtual rehabilitation
Together, Benjamin Bishop, Ph.D., and Renée Hakim, Ph.D., research virtual rehabilitation

Game-changing Virtual Rehab Exploration

VR might typically stand for virtual reality, but two Scranton professors are doing game-changing research on “the other VR” — virtual rehabilitation.

Renée Hakim, Ph.D., a physical therapist and professor in the Physical Therapy Department, and Benjamin Bishop, Ph.D., professor of computing sciences, are collaborating on pioneering research to determine if the specialized devices that have aided recovery in stroke patients can similarly aid those who have or had orthopedic injuries such as fractures, carpal tunnel syndrome or any type of nerve injury.

For example, they are working on a so ware aid that can help with the seemingly simple task of handwriting: cursive and printed. Handwriting and plenty of other fine motor skills necessary for daily life can become nearly impossible tasks for those who’ve suffered orthopedic injuries, which was what prompted Dr. Hakim to choose this particular skill for the pilot phase of this study. Dr. Hakim provides the motor-skill expertise, while Dr. Bishop’s expertise is in graphics and computer hardware.

Read the full press release, here.

Faculty Notes

2018 Teacher of the Year

Daniel Haggerty, Ph.D., professor of philosophy and director of the Special Jesuit Liberal Arts Honors Program, is the 2018 Teacher of the Year. Among many other accomplishments, Dr. Haggerty developed and teaches a mission-based travel course in Spain and Rome that follows in the footsteps of St. Ignatius of Loyola.

Read more, here.

Sigma Nu Teacher of the Year

Timothy Foley, Ph.D., professor of chemistry, was named the 2018 Sigma Nu Teacher of the Year. He often involves University students in his research, which centers on the chemistry of protein sulfur as it relates to normal cellular regulation as well as to diseases ranging from neurodegenerative disorders to cancer.

Read more, here.

KSOM Professor of the Year

Daniel Mahoney, Ph.D. ’81, G’85, professor of accounting, received the Kania School of Management Professor of the Year Award in 2018, the fi h time he has earned the honor, which is presented by the Business Club.

Read more, here.

Two Biology Professors Awarded NSF Grants

Two biology professors were recently awarded National Science Foundation (NSF) grants:
Janice Voltzow, Ph.D., is the principal investigator for a $645,000 NSF grant that will fund scholarships and provide additional academic support to 25 undergraduate students majoring in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields over the next five years. The program is called the Royal Scholars Program.

Read more, here.

Marc Seid, Ph.D., received $200,703 as part of an NSF collaborative research grant to support his research into whether social interactions influence brain size by studying closely related species of social and solitary bees. The grant will support summer stipends for undergraduate student researchers.

Read more, here.

Provost Awards

Nine faculty members received Provost Faculty Enhancement Awards for excellence in teaching, scholarship or service: Bryan Burnham, Ph.D., Excellence in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award; David Dzurec III, Ph.D., Excellence in University Service and Leadership Award; Rita Fleming-Castaldy, Ph.D., Excellence in Scholarly Publication Award; Renee Hakim, Ph.D., Peter Leininger, Ph.D. and Jennifer Schwartz, DPT, Excellence in Integrating Mission and Justice into the Curriculum Award; Jessica Nolan, Ph.D., Excellence in Integrating Sustainability into the Curriculum Award; Steven Szydlowski, DHA, Excellence In Advancing Global Learning Award; and Kevin Wilkerson, Ph.D., Excellence in Graduate Teaching Faculty Senate Award.

Scroll to Top