Faculty News

A collection of faculty news from winter, spring and summer 2015 is below, featuring everything from teachers of the year to awardees in scholarship and service.

Teachers of the Year

Daniel Sweeney, S.J., Ph.D., assistant professor of political science, was named Teacher of the Year by the Class of 2015. The award honors a faculty member who maintains high standards of academic excellence and fairness and, through enthusiasm and dedication, inspires the interest of students in a field of education.

Sandra LaManna, a faculty specialist in the Education Department, was named Kappa Delta Pi Teacher of the Year by the student members of Scranton’s chapter of the international honor society in education.

Catherine P. Lovecchio, RN, Ph.D., professor of nursing, was named Scranton’s CASE Professor of the Year in recognition of her outstanding performance as a member of the faculty. Professors awarded by individual schools are eligible for further recognition by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) at the state and national levels.

John “Jack” O’Malley, Ph.D. ’64, professor emeritus of psychology, was named the 2014-2015 Alpha Sigma Nu Teacher of the Year. The award, formally known as the Gannon Award, in honor of Fr. Edward Gannon, S.J., is the oldest teaching award at the University and recognizes outstanding teaching among faculty. Student members of Alpha Sigma Nu, the Jesuit honor society, select the professor to be honored.

Nursing Professor Writes Book, Nurses Making Policy

Margarete L. Zalon, Ph.D., professor of nursing, is a co-author of the recently published book Nurses Making Policy: From Bedside to Boardroom with Rebecca M. Patton, MSN, and Ruth Ludwick, Ph.D. Nurses Making Policy, co-published with the American Nurses Association, explores the nurse’s integral role in facilitating health policy change and advocating for the patient, both in the hospital and in the larger political system.

English Professor New President of MELUS

Joe Kraus, Ph.D., professor of English and director of the Honors Program at Scranton, was elected president of the Society for the Study of Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States (MELUS), dedicated to understanding American literature as a broad canvas, one that has space for different voices coming from different ethnicities, nationalities and cultural experiences.

Faculty Members Honored for Teaching, Scholarship and Service

Twelve Scranton faculty members were honored for excellence in teaching, scholarship or service. One parttime faculty member received the Provost Part-Time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching, and 11 full-time faculty members received Provost Faculty Enhancement Awards. The Provost, Associate Provost, and Provost Advisory Group selected the recipients from a pool of candidates nominated by academic deans and department chairs.

  • Teresa Grettano, Ph.D. and Donna Witek — Excellence in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award
  • Leonard Gougeon, Ph.D. and Julie Ann Nastasi, O.T.D. — Excellence in Scholarly Publication Award
  • Kristen A. Yarmey and Michael D. Friedman, Ph.D. — Excellence for University Service and Leadership Award
  • Robert Willenbrink, Ph.D. — Excellence in Advancing Interdisciplinary Study Award
  • Shuhua Fan, Ph.D. - Excellence in Advancing Global Learning Award
  • Susan Carol Mendez, Ph.D., Abhijit Roy, DBA and Michael Edward Allison, Ph.D. — Excellence in Integrating Mission and Justice into the Curriculum Award
  • Amye Archer — Provost Part-Time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Read more about any faculty news at scranton.edu/news.

Scroll to Top